STAR logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

What Is STAR?

TL;DR
  • STAR Commercial Refrigeration Mastery is administered by NITC with United Association industry expertise, and targets experienced commercial refrigeration...
  • The exam has 194 multiple-choice questions, a 2.5-hour limit, and an 83% passing score, stated as 161 correct.
  • Eligibility requires three years of documented install-and-service experience, or being in the third year of a qualifying training program.
  • The proctored original exam is $150 on the current NITC price list; Prometric center requests add a $65 processing fee.

What STAR Commercial Refrigeration Mastery Actually Is

STAR Commercial Refrigeration Mastery is a certification for technicians who install and service commercial refrigeration equipment. It is not an entry-level quiz and it is not a general HVAC credential. The candidate bulletin describes the examination as comprehensive and intended for experienced technicians, which tells you something about the audience: people who already work on walk-in coolers, display cases, rack systems, and ice machines, and who want a third-party credential that documents that mastery.

The acronym causes confusion, because several unrelated credentials in other industries also abbreviate to "STAR." Everything on this page concerns the commercial refrigeration program only. If you want more angles on the name itself, our explainers on what STAR stands for and the meaning of STAR cover the terminology in more detail, and the broader overview at what STAR certification is places it in context.

Scope matters: The exam is a closed-book, knowledge-based assessment. It tests whether you understand refrigeration theory, controls, electrical fundamentals, and equipment behavior well enough to work independently in the field. It does not replace hands-on skill, but it verifies the knowledge that sits underneath it.

Who Runs the Program

The program is administered by the National Inspection, Testing and Certification Corporation (NITC), working with industry expertise from the United Association. NITC publishes the governing documents candidates should treat as the source of truth:

  • Candidate Bulletin for STAR Certifications (Exhibit #68, Rev 05-24-23), which defines the exam scope, rules, and eligibility.
  • Certification Examination Price List (Exhibit #23, Rev 02-12-26), which lists current fees.
  • STAR Commercial Refrigeration Study Guide (Rev. 1.1, dated 4/22/07), the preparation resource organized into nine topic headings.

Notice the dates. The study guide is considerably older than the bulletin, so treat it as a preparation aid rather than a guaranteed mirror of current exam content. When the two differ in emphasis, the bulletin's commercial-refrigeration section is the authoritative description of scope.

The Exam at a Glance

FeatureSTAR Commercial Refrigeration Mastery
Administering bodyNITC, with United Association industry expertise
Question count194 multiple-choice
Time allowed2.5 hours
Passing score83%, stated as 161 correct
Open or closed bookClosed book; electronic devices prohibited
DeliveryProctored; Prometric test center available
Pass rateNot publicly disclosed
Credential validity5 years from issuance

What the numbers imply

Do the arithmetic: 194 questions in 150 minutes leaves under 47 seconds per question on average. That is a brisk pace for technical material, and it rewards candidates who recognize concepts instantly rather than reasoning them out from scratch. With a passing threshold of 161 correct, you can miss at most 33 questions. There is little room to be weak in any single area, which is why a balanced preparation plan beats deep specialization in a favorite topic.

Because NITC does not disclose a pass rate, any figure you see quoted elsewhere deserves skepticism. Our article on what the available data shows about the STAR pass rate explains what can and cannot be said responsibly, and the passing score breakdown goes deeper on the 83% threshold. For a candid look at difficulty, see how hard the STAR exam really is.

Pacing reality: With roughly 47 seconds per question, you cannot afford to stall. Flag anything that demands a long calculation, finish the questions you know cold, and return to the hard ones with whatever time remains.

Who Can Sit for It

NITC sets a clear experience gate. You qualify in one of two ways:

  1. Three years of documented work experience installing and servicing commercial refrigeration systems, or
  2. Documentation that you are in the third year of a commercial refrigeration training program that involves installation and servicing.

The word "documented" is doing real work. Plan to gather employer letters, training-program records, or similar evidence before you apply, rather than assuming your word is enough. Apprentices in a structured program have a pathway at the third-year mark, which means you can sit for the exam shortly before completing training rather than waiting until afterward. Our detailed walkthrough of STAR eligibility and prerequisites covers how to assemble your paperwork.

The Nine Preparation Areas

The official study guide groups its material under nine headings. An important caveat: these are preparation categories from the study guide, not percentage-weighted exam domains. NITC does not publish weights for them in the sources reviewed, and the current bulletin describes a comprehensive commercial-refrigeration scope. Treat the list as a map of what to study, not a promise of how many questions each area contributes. For a section-by-section treatment, see our guide to all nine STAR content areas.

Domain 1: Refrigeration Fundamentals

The physics and vocabulary everything else rests on.

  • Heat transfer, states of matter, and the refrigeration cycle
  • Pressure-temperature relationships and refrigerant behavior
  • Superheat and subcooling as diagnostic tools

Domain 2: Refrigeration System Operation

How the major components work together under real load conditions.

  • Compressors, condensers, evaporators, and metering devices
  • Defrost methods and their effect on system performance
  • Reading symptoms to identify what a system is doing wrong

Domain 3: Basic Electricity

The electrical knowledge technicians use daily on motors and control circuits.

  • Voltage, current, resistance, and Ohm's law applications
  • Motor types, starting components, and circuit protection
  • Reading wiring diagrams and using meters safely

Domain 4: Controls

The devices that make commercial systems cycle, defrost, and protect themselves.

  • Thermostats, pressure controls, and safety switches
  • Defrost timers and electronic controllers
  • Relays, contactors, and control sequencing

Domain 5: Rack Systems

Multi-compressor systems serving multiple cases and walk-ins, common in supermarkets.

  • Rack architecture, parallel compressor operation, and capacity control
  • Condenser arrangements and head-pressure management
  • Piping and oil management concepts specific to racks

Domain 6: Self-Contained Units

Factory-assembled equipment with the refrigeration circuit built in.

  • Reach-ins, display cases, and similar packaged equipment
  • Common failure patterns and service approaches
  • How these differ from remote-condensing and rack-served equipment

Domain 7: Ice Machines

A specialty area with its own cycles, sensors, and water considerations.

  • Freeze and harvest cycles
  • Water supply, sanitation, and scale-related problems
  • Troubleshooting production and harvest faults

Domain 8: Auxiliary Systems

The supporting equipment around the core refrigeration circuit.

  • Ancillary components that affect system performance
  • How auxiliary equipment interacts with primary refrigeration

Domain 9: Business and Customer Relations

The professional side of field service, often underestimated by technically strong candidates.

  • Communicating with customers about problems and repairs
  • Professional conduct and documentation on the job

Key Takeaway

Do not skip Domain 9 because it feels "soft." With only 33 allowable misses across 194 questions, every area you ignore is a risk. Business and customer-relations questions are often the quickest points on the exam for a prepared candidate.

Fees, Delivery, and Test-Day Rules

What you will pay

The current NITC price list shows $150 for the proctored original STAR Commercial Refrigeration Mastery examination. Candidates who request a Prometric center face an additional $65 processing fee, according to the commercial application materials. Budget for both if a test center is your preferred setting. Fees can change with each price-list revision, so confirm against the current Exhibit #23 before you submit payment. Our STAR certification cost breakdown lays out the full picture, including what to weigh against the credential's value.

How the exam is delivered

The exam is proctored, and Prometric test-center delivery is an available option. The format is closed book, and electronic devices are prohibited. That means no phones, no reference apps, and no loading a cheat sheet onto a device. If you plan to rely on memorized formulas or pressure-temperature relationships, you need them in your head by test day. Our one-page STAR review sheet is designed for studying beforehand, not for use in the room.

For timing logistics, including how scheduling windows work, see STAR exam dates and scheduling.

Validity and Renewal

A STAR certification is valid for five years from issuance. What happens at the end of that window is less settled. Current NITC certification information says recertification is to be determined, and the 2026 price list shows online recertification as under development at $100. In plain terms: expect a renewal pathway, expect it to be online, but do not treat the $100 figure as final until NITC finalizes the program. Check back with NITC as your expiration date approaches rather than assuming the details.

Who Values This Credential

The credential speaks to employers and customers in commercial refrigeration: supermarket service contractors, foodservice equipment service companies, refrigeration contractors handling walk-ins and racks, and facilities teams that maintain their own equipment. For a technician, the certification documents knowledge that otherwise lives only in your work history, which can matter when bidding for lead-tech roles, negotiating pay, or working with customers who want proof of competency.

The nine preparation areas also hint at the roles it supports. Heavy emphasis on rack systems and self-contained units points toward grocery and food-retail service work, while the ice machine and auxiliary topics reflect the breadth of equipment a commercial service tech touches in a single week. If you are weighing whether the investment pays off, our ROI analysis of the STAR certification, the STAR salary guide, and the overview of STAR-related jobs examine the career side in more detail. Be cautious with any specific earnings claim, since NITC does not publish salary data tied to the credential.

Sequencing Your Preparation

Because the nine areas build on one another, order matters more than volume. Fundamentals and electricity underpin nearly everything else, so they belong at the front of your plan. Here is a sample sequence for a candidate with a few months to prepare:

Weeks 1-2

Foundations: Fundamentals and Operation

  • Rebuild the refrigeration cycle from memory, including superheat and subcooling
  • Review component function and defrost methods
Weeks 3-4

Electricity and Controls

  • Drill Ohm's law, motor circuits, and wiring diagram reading
  • Work through control devices and sequencing, since these questions reward fast recognition
Weeks 5-6

Equipment Families

  • Cover rack systems, self-contained units, and ice machines as distinct categories
  • Compare how troubleshooting differs among them
Week 7

Auxiliary Systems and Business Skills

  • Close the gaps in the two areas candidates most often neglect
  • Take a timed practice run at the real pace of about 47 seconds per question

The official study guide dates to 2007, so supplement it with current equipment knowledge from your own field work, and use realistic practice questions to find weak spots. You can start with our STAR practice test, then move to the full STAR study guide for a deeper plan. When you want to measure readiness against the clock, return to the practice exam and simulate the closed-book, 2.5-hour conditions.

Frequently Asked Questions

What does the STAR Commercial Refrigeration Mastery exam cover?

The current candidate bulletin describes a comprehensive commercial-refrigeration scope for experienced technicians. The official study guide organizes preparation into nine headings, from refrigeration fundamentals through business and customer relations, but NITC does not publish percentage weights for them.

How many questions are on the exam, and what score do I need?

The exam has 194 multiple-choice questions with a 2.5-hour time limit. The candidate bulletin states the passing score as 83%, which it identifies as 161 correct answers.

What experience do I need before I can take it?

You need three years of documented work experience installing and servicing commercial refrigeration systems, or documentation that you are in the third year of a commercial refrigeration training program involving installation and servicing.

How much does the exam cost?

The current NITC price list shows $150 for the proctored original examination. Candidates requesting a Prometric center face an additional $65 processing fee per the commercial application materials. Always verify against the latest price list before paying.

How long does the certification last, and can it be renewed?

It is valid for five years from issuance. Current NITC information says recertification is to be determined, and the 2026 price list shows online recertification as under development at $100, so confirm the process with NITC as your expiration approaches.

Ready to pass your STAR exam?

Put this into practice with free STAR questions across every exam domain.